

The Fourth Otto Wagner Städtebaupreis

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS 2004

The Architekturzentrum Wien is accepting applications for the Otto Wagner Städtebaupreis, held in collaboration with the Postsparkasse bank for the fourth time. The aim is to promote and encourage state of the art urban development as well as its discussion and presentation in Austria.

At the start of the 20th century Otto Wagner had made a contribution to urban development that enjoyed world-wide recognition. A background of Wagner's position between visionary and pragmatist, between artistic designer and functional urban thinker, is intended to address and show appreciation for contemporary urban development. This makes the Otto Wagner Städtebaupreis 2004 a competition among urban development thinking and concepts for the future.

The Postsparkasse is one of Otto Wagner's key buildings. In full appreciation of this unique heritage and as a reference to Wagner's oeuvre, it is both an honour and a pleasant duty to award the Otto Wagner Städtebaupreis 2004 in collaboration with the Architekturzentrum Wien.

Previous Award Winners:

2001 - the third Otto Wagner Städtebaupreis Ernst Beneder, Vienna: Waidhofen/Ybbs, das Stadtprojekt

1998 - the second Otto Wagner Städtebaupreis BUS-Architektur, Vienna: Homeworkers, living and working on Donaufelder Strasse

1995 - the first Otto Wagner Städtebaupreis Adolf Krischanitz and Heinz Neumann, Vienna: Donau City

Aim and Theme

The Otto Wagner Städtebaupreis 2004 is to be awarded to an urban development project that address the problems facing urban development in a constantly changing society with a new and offensive approach. The project should address the basic issue of the redefinition of urban space, as well as showing consideration for the conception, design and development of areas where various functions and lifestyles are brought together. The urban development should form a framework for life in the future by playing a mediating role and increasing density.



Eligibility

- Urban development projects for the Otto Wagner Städtebaupreis 2004 can only be submitted by their authors. Eligible for the award are: town planners, architects, land use planners, landscape architects and graduates in the appropriate specialist fields (authorised or not).
- To be accepted are all urban construction projects that deal with larger briefs than the planning of a single object and its grounds.
- The project and its goals in urban development terms must be sufficiently clarified.
- Eligible for entry are: student projects, former competition entries and completed commissions designed or completed between 2001-2003.
- Diploma projects will not be accepted.
- The project must be based in Austria.
- There is no limit to the number of submissions by the same person/team. A Fact Sheet (see below) must be completed for each project submitted.
- Each participant declares their agreement with the conditions of this competition, and consents to the exhibition, presentation and publication of all material submitted without charge.

Application Forms and Deadlines

All applications should include the following:

- A presentation no longer than five sheets of DIN A0 providing a meaningful representation and explanation of the project.
- All packaging and documentation to be submitted exclusively in rolls.
- No other forms of documentation (e.g. brochures, books, data media etc.) may be submitted.
- All entries must have reached the Architekturzentrum Wien (MuseumsQuartier, Museumsplatz 1, A 1070 Vienna, Austria) by no later than 20 September 2004 the latest accepted date on the postal stamp, where applicable. Each roll must be marked with the name and address of the person/team who submitted it and must be accompanied by a completed Fact Sheet (see below).



The Jury

The jury is chaired by an important and distinguished international figure in the debate on architecture and urban space. His view from outside, his comments, his opinions will be decisive in judging "the best Austrian urban development project".

Following Jacques Herzog, Norman Foster and Nicholas Grimshaw, we have been able to win over Dominique Perrault to chair this year's jury. In addition to chairing the jury, Dominique Perrault is to provide the background to his position as a theorist in a lecture at the Postsparkasse, and in so doing make his own contribution to the future of urban development.

The jury is comprised of the Executive Councillor for Urban Development and Traffic in Vienna, the winner of the Otto Wagner Städtebaupreis 2001, the managing director of the Postsparkasse bank and the director of the Architekturzentrum Wien, as a representative of the organisers of the award.

Dominique Perrault, architect in Paris, chair of the jury Rudolf Schicker, Executive Councillor for Urban Development and Traffic, Vienna Ernst Beneder, architect, winner of the Otto Wagner Städtebaupreis 2001 Stephan Koren, Managing Director of the Postsparkasse bank Dietmar Steiner, Director of the Architekturzentrum Wien

The jury is convening in early October 2004.

The Award and the Prize-Giving Ceremony

A total of EUR 15,000.- is to be awarded. Only the jury (see above) has the right to decide who is to receive the award. The jury's decision is final and binding. The winning project and other running-up projects are to be presented in an exhibition in the banking hall of the Postsparkasse. The official award ceremony is to be held as part of the opening on 27 October 2004.

Further Informations on the Award: Architekturzentrum Wien Caroline Kufferath T++43-1-522 31 15-34, F++43-1-522 31 17 email: kufferath@azw.at

Informations for the Press: Architekturzentrum Wien Ulrike Kahr-Haele T++43-1-522 31 15-23, F++43-1-522 31 17 email: press@azw.at

Museumsplatz 1 A-1070 Wien T++43-1-522 31 15 F++43-1-522 31 17 cufferath@azw.at www.azw.at